Who Are We?

Pukaha Mount Bruce is under the guardianship of a strong partnership between the Pukaha Mount Bruce Board, Rangitane o Wairarapa and the Department of Conservation.

We share a common vision to restore this place to its natural, tranquil beauty and restore the forest’s legendary dawn chorus.

These three groups are are drawn together in to their unique community partnership through the Pukaha Mount Bruce Board which was established in 2006.

In July 2013 the Pukaha Mount Bruce Board took over the operation of the Visitor Centre, Education programmes and retail activities from the Department of Conservation.   In October 2015, it took over the operation of the captive breeding programme from the Department of Conservation too. 

The Department of Conservation is contracted to undertake the forest restoration programme at Pukaha Mount Bruce on behalf of the Board with support from local and community volunteers and operates a captive breeding programme.

Pukaha Mount Bruce is supported by the Greater Wellington Regional Council and Horizons Regional Council through their ongoing predator control programmes on neighbouring properties.

The Pukaha Mount Bruce Board consists of:

Mr Bob Francis - Chair

Mr Duncan Fletcher - Deputy Chair

Ms Kate Clarke

Ms Claire Matthews

Mr Warren Chase - Rangitane O Wairarapa

Mr Clive Paton

Mr Reg Kemper - Department of Conservation

Senior Staff at Pukaha Mount Bruce

Executive Officer Pukaha Mount Bruce Board - Mr John Gilberthorpe

General Manager Pukaha Mount Bruce - Mrs Helen Tickner ph +64 6 375 8756 or 027 770 0020 email: helen@pukaha.org.nz

Visitor Experience Supervisor - Ms Laura Saba ph +64 6 375 8004 email: laura@pukaha.org.nz

Conservation Manager - Mr Todd Jenkinson ph 027 770 0063 email: todd@pukaha.org.nz 

2014/2015 Annual Report [PDF 1.6MB]

2013/2014 Annual Report [PDF 1.6MB]

2011/12 Annual Report [PDF 1.5MB]

2010/11 Annual Report [PDF 1.1MB]

2009/10 Annual Report - 3 parts as below

2008-09 Annual Report [PDF 5.5MB]